Answered By: Sophie Farrar
Last Updated: Jul 11, 2018     Views: 3

Each Part of the Summa theologiae is divided into questions, which are in turn subdivided into articles.

  • Each question focuses on a specific theme, which is examined in a number of individual articles
  • Each article is a discussion of an issue that includes a variety of views

Each article is divided into five sections:

  1. Question posed
  2. Objections (arguments "that can appear problematic when viewed from Aquinas' position")
  3. Authority quoted to the contrary (of the objections)
  4. Aquinas' determination, or solution, of the question
  5. Aquinas' replies to the objections

Source: John Inglis, On Aquinas, Wadsworth Philosophers (Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, 2002), 29.

The University's Chicago Referencing Guide provides details on how to reference the Summa theologiae - see link below.

The links below to blogs may also be useful.